The Donut Song

The end of summer and start of a new school year always invoke a wave of nostalgia even though my days as a student are long, long, long gone. When I think back to some of my favorite childhood summers, many of them involve attending a local day camp that my brother and I went to for many years.  Those of you who have attended camp in the past or who have children who attend camp know that music and singing are almost always involved in some shape or form.

While researching donut fabrics with my mom to create some brand new donut inspired aprons, we came upon the most delightful children’s camp song called “The Donut Song.”  I only wish I had learned this song during all of my childhood summer camp years!  I think it is absolutely adorable!

The Donut Song

Well I walked around the corner and I walked around the block
And I walked right into a donut shop.
Well I scooped up a donut right out of the grease
And handed the lady a five cent piece.
Well she looked at the donut and she looked at me
And she said, “This nickel is no good you see. 
There’s a hole in the middle I can see right through.”
And I said, “There’s a hole in your donut too!”
Thanks for the donut, so long!

In honor of the donut song and our love for all things fried, gooey and delicious, we are super excited to present our brand new donut inspired apron!

IMG_1166

 

Our Pretty in Gingham aprons are fully lined and backed with our signature gingham.  This particular apron features adorable hot pink gingham and two large front pockets with adjustable neck and back ties.

And if you are in the Southern California area, you must check out our absolute favorite donut shop: The Donut Man.  Try the fresh strawberry and peach donuts when in season!  You won’t be sorry!

 

Kristy JPEG

3 thoughts on “The Donut Song

  1. Pingback: Pretty in Gingham’s 1 Year Anniversary | Pretty In Gingham

Leave a Reply

