The art of sniffing books

“You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks of ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads.  May you be in love everyday for the next 20,000 days.  And out of that love, remake a world.”
– Ray Bradbury

For as long as I can remember, I have loved the smell of books.  The older, the mustier, the more loved the book, the better I think it smells.  To this day, I still love to roam the aisles of the local library or used book store and sniff to my little heart’s content.  The art of sniffing books is something my mom finds extremely odd but it’s a practice I don’t ever see myself giving up.

I love books.  I love everything about them.  Their ability to transport you from one world to another with the power of words, the weight of the book in your hands as you flip pages, the carefully designed graphics on the cover and of course, the smell.   Oh the glorious smell!  This is why I will never be able to give up hard copies of books, no matter how sophisticated an e-reader may become.  I currently have both an early generation Kindle and an iPad mini from which I have read while on vacation in the interest of saving space in my luggage but there’s absolutely nothing that can compare to the feel of a real book in your hand.

Here are a couple of books I have either read or re-read lately that have captivated me from beginning to end:

The Gallery of Vanished Husbands by Natasha Solomons

The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (an oldie but goodie)

Made in the USA by Billie Letts

The Good House by Ann Leary
Happy reading!
Kristy JPEG
Leave a Reply

